Rachel Sousa selected to attend 72nd Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting


Rachel Sousa, a 3rd-year MCSB student in Drs John Lowengrub, Francesco Marangoni, and Armando Villalta's labs, has been selected to participate in the 72nd Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting. Every year, Nobel Laureates convene in Lindau to meet the next generation of leading scientists from all over the world. These young scientists are selected through a highly competitive, multi-stage application and nomination process. In addition to the one-time chance to participate in a Lindau Meeting, these young scientists become part of a special community – a network of excellence. As alumni of the Lindau Meetings, former participants stay connected with each other and become ambassadors of the scientific dialogue fostered by the Lindau Meetings.

Congratulations to Rachel!

Karen Xiao wins award at 2022 NCI Jr. Investigator meeting!

Karen Xiao, a 4th-year MCSB student in Dr. Anand Ganesan's lab, was awarded the People's Choice Poster Award at the 2022 NCI Junior Investigator Annual Meeting!  Her poster was entitled, "Identifying Signaling Networks in Melanoma Tumors that Promote the Uncontrolled Growth of BRAF Mutant Melanocytes."

CSBC Meeting Karen Award

Dr. Min Wu receives NSF Career Award


Dr. Min Wu (MCSB Inaugural Class 2007) has been awarded a NSF Career Award. Her project, "Probing Multiscale Growth Dynamics in Filamentous Cell Walls," will develop mathematical models and computational methods to simulate, predict and quantify various aspects of cell wall expansion. Findings from this study will have great impact in agriculture and public health.

Presently, Dr. Min Wu is an assistant professor in the Division of Mathematical Sciences at the Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, MA.


Alvaro Fletcher wins 2021 Presidential Dissertation Year Fellowship!


Alvaro Fletcher, a PhD student in the MCSB program (PI: German Enciso), has been awarded the President's Dissertation Year Fellowship!

Alvaro's research focuses on the development of stochastic and deterministic mathematical models to understand biological systems at multiple scales. Previous models have aimed to describe chromatin remodeling and, in collaboration with the Wunderlich lab, the activity of shadow enhancers in Drosophila. He is also interested in the application of chemical reaction network theory to cell signaling pathways.

The President’s Dissertation Year (PDY) Fellowship is intended for students in their final year of graduate study who are planning to pursue teaching and research appointments soon after their dissertation fellowship year. This award assists graduate students with the completion of their dissertation, and enhances their qualifications as candidates for university faculty teaching and research appointments by providing professional opportunities needed to successfully obtain a faculty appointment.

Tessa Morris awarded 2021 La Verne Noyes Fellowship

Tessa Morris, an MCSB PhD student in Dr. Anna Grosberg’s Cardiovascular Modeling Laboratory, is the recipient of the 2021 La Verne Noyes Fellowship!

Tessa works to create computational tools for characterization of cardiac tissue architecture. This involves using and developing image analysis techniques to extract quantitative information about the biological constructs that comprise muscle tissues.

The La Verne Noyes Fellowship provides financial support to graduate students who demonstrate outstanding past academic achievement as well as future promise and are descendants of World War I U.S. Army or Navy veterans.

Congratulations, Tessa!


Trini Nguyen receives NSF fellowship

The MCSB program would like to congratulate student Trini Nguyen on receiving a 2020 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship!

The title of Trini’s project is: Intermediate Binding States, Motor Length, and Rigidness Affect Intracellular Transport.

Trini collaborates with Dr. Steve Gross (UCI Developmental & Cell Biology) and is a Fellow of the Center for Multiscale Cell Fate.

Dr. Allard and Trini
Dr. Allard and Trini